Congratulations to the 2018 Design Tasmania Award Top Ten!

Shauna Mayben: Tide. Photography by Peter Whyte.


The Design Tasmania Award focuses on design excellence, innovation, and craftsmanship. Now in its 11th year, Design Tasmania is proud to support Tasmanian designer makers in their pursuit of a meaningful and successful practice. This is achieved through a range of distinct awards and prizes. The criteria for the Award are based on design innovation, appropriate use of materials and context, and the ability to go into production. The design outcomes need to reflect how the piece contributes, or indeed makes a difference to people’s lives.


This year, the 2018 Design Tasmania Award, we had 23 entries from all around the state, including Flinders Island. The entries came from makers at all stages of their careers, from emerging through to well established. We would like to thank all who put in the time to enter a piece, congratulations to all.


We would like to extend a big thank you to our 2018 judges. Our judges this year included Sunny Drury of The20, Fiona Lehman of Design Tasmania, and Lucy Given of Luc Design.


We would also like to acknowledge our Sponsors and thank them for their support: The20, Hydrowood, the Hawthorn Football Club, and Foot and Playstead, as well as the ongoing support of Design Tasmania from Arts Tasmania and the Australia Council for the Arts.


And now to announce our Top Ten. The 2018 Design Tasmania Award Top Ten are, in alphabetical order:

David Pannell – Ultralight Tray

Ivett Simon – Accordion Clutch and Palindrome Cardholder

Jamie Dobbs – Hikari A Lamp

Jason Mah – 4 Peaks Coffee Table

Michael Bremer-Trainor – Secrétaire Bread Box

Rengin Guner – The Void Earrings

Shauna Mayben – Tide

Tanja von Behrens – Multi-Wear Earrings

Toby Muir-Wilson and Anita Dineen – Adrift


All the Top Ten will receive professional photography of their entries from Peter Whyte Studio, a residency on Design Tasmania’s Instagram feed over the 12-month period, and their stock to be placed in the Design Tasmania Retail Store.


We also have two prizes to announce.


The 2018 Sustainability Award, supported by Hydrowood, to the value of $1,200, is presented to an entry that shows innovative use of timber as well as addressing the criteria outlined within the medium. The winner receives the supply of Hydrowood timber in solids or veneers, to reproduce the winning entry to a minimum value of $1,200.


The winner of the 2018 Sustainability Award is Michael Bremer-Trainor with the Secrétaire Bread Box.


The 2018 Design Tasmania Award, supported by The20 and Design Tasmania, to the value of $5,000, is presented to one entry that best addresses the criteria outlined within the medium. The winner will receive a starting order for the Design Tasmania Retail Store and a commitment to stock for 12-months, and a Marketing package with a total of 12-months one on one mentoring from the director of The20.


The winner of the 2018 Design Tasmania Award is Shauna Mayben with Tide.


Thank you to our sponsors, to our judges, and most of all to all who placed an entry into the 2018 Design Tasmania Award.

The Top Ten finalists can be viewed in our Summer Exhibition Program here at Design Tasmania, running until February 20.

Michael Bremer-Trainor: Secretaire Bread Box. Photography by Peter Whyte.