Congratulations to the Winners and Top Ten finalists for the 2016 Design Tasmania Award

The winners were announced at the launch of the Hobart showcase on December 17th 2015, at Arts Tasmania. The Overall winner of the 2016 Design Tasmania Award was Megan Perkins, for her 'Drip Drop' earrings.

Geoff Marshall took out the Hawthorn Acquisitive Prize and the Veneer Prize for his 'VS Conus' floor lamp.

This prestigious awards night, gathered over 50 people from around the south of Tasmania in support of Tasmania Design.  The Top Ten selected representing the talented hand crafted makers in the state will be on display until late January at Arts Tasmania and at the Design Tasmania Center, Launceston until late February.

Exhibition Nov 27th - Feb 26 2016 (Design Tasmania Center, Launceston)

Exhibition Dec 17 –  Jan 28 2016 (Arts Tasmania, Hobart)

The Design Tasmania Award has encouraged and supported local designers for 9 years, enabling designers and makers to challenge the boundaries of creativity and innovation, refining concepts that can be made into production ready objects and follow them through to the final stages to market.

This platform distinguishes the Awards, with four expansive categories in which to enter their designs, Small Object, Furniture, Lighting and this year the addition of ‘Furnishing Our Future’ category supported by Hawthorn Football Club.

Design Tasmania and Hawthorn FC partnered to encourage Tasmanian makers to understand and incorporate where and which direction design is moving, designing an object with the future in focus. Materials are subject to supply and some are diminishing, and as home environments begin to get smaller smart design is essence of its survival.

The Design Tasmania Award entries impressed the judges, with an escalation in original design. State-wide designers increased the quality of creativity, with boundaries and innovation successfully opposed, strengthening the final top ten to represent the 2016 Design Tasmania Award.

We congratulate all the designers who entered the awards for 2016 and especially to the top ten who were selected by the judges.

The peoples choice was announced on Friday March 4th and was awarded to Linda Fredheim for the entry 'Writing Desk'.


Contact Abbie Pedersen, Program Coordinator for more information.